Disabling your Instagram account is an option if you’ve grown bored of the service. There are two options available to Instagram users: temporarily deactivating their account or permanently erasing it. We’ll go through both possibilities so you can make an informed decision about whether or not you want to continue using Instagram after this. Be wary, though, because canceling your Instagram account will also delete all of your stuff forever.
Temporarily Disable Your Instagram Account
When you temporarily deactivate your Instagram account, no one will be able to see your profile or any of your material (pictures, videos, comments, likes, or followers).
Important information on temporarily turning down your Instagram account is provided below.
- After you deactivate your Instagram account, no one will be able to see your profile, posts, comments, or likes. Your information will remain intact and you will always be able to log back in and resume using your account.
- Nothing will be removed from your account: Deactivating your account temporarily does not remove any of your data. When you deactivate and then activate your account again, all of your photographs, videos, comments, and likes will be temporarily hidden.
- Your profile information, including: Resuming usage of your account will restore all of your previous settings, including your username, bio, profile image, and so on.
- Disabling Instagram prevents you from accessing the app. If you deactivate your Instagram account, you won’t be able to use the service in any way, including viewing, posting, or interacting with content.
- Your inactive account can be revived at any time: Just connecting back onto the mobile app or desktop website will restore your account to its active status. There will be no delay in restoring your account and its contents.
- Instagram users have the option to temporarily delete their accounts once a week. Accounts that are inactive for longer than a week may require verification in order to avoid spam.
Permanently Delete Your Instagram Account
If you choose to delete your Instagram account permanently, your profile, content, and data will be erased from Instagram forever. If you’ve decided to erase your Instagram account forever, there are a few things you should know.
- The following will happen to your account and its contents: If you verify that you wish to delete your Instagram account, everything associated with it will be removed forever, including your profile, images, videos, comments, likes, and follows.
- If your account is terminated, there is no way to retrieve any of your previous information. Instagram will not be able to restore any of your data, so be sure to save a copy somewhere.
- Deleted accounts are permanently inaccessible: Your account and all associated data will be permanently removed from the system after you request deletion. If you ever want to use Instagram again, you’ll have to sign up for a brand new account.
- There is no way to undelete your Instagram account once you have confirmed that you want to do so. Verify that you are sure you want to permanently delete your account.
- Your information may not be completely erased immediately: Instagram’s process of permanently erasing your information from its servers might take up to 90 days. It’s possible that other people can still access your information at this period.
- To cancel your subscription, you’ll need to enter your password: Password verification is required before you can permanently cancel your Instagram account. This is necessary in order to safeguard your account from theft.
Deleting your Instagram account permanently is a big deal and you should only do it if you are positive you never want to see your photos or profile again. Instagram’s temporary inactivity feature is the best choice if you need to take a break but don’t want to lose your content or followers.
Different Between Temporarily Disable and Permanently Delete Your Instagram Account
The primary distinction between deactivating and deleting your Instagram account is that the former is a temporary step and the latter is irreversible.
If you temporarily deactivate your account, no one will be able to see your profile or any of the content you’ve posted, liked, or followed. Your previous posts and followers will be restored when you reactivate your account. If you’re feeling overwhelmed by social media but still want to maintain your content and following, this is a viable solution.
When you delete your Instagram account, all of your content, including photos, videos, comments, likes, and followers, will be removed from the service forever. You will lose access to your account and its contents, and will be required to sign up for Instagram anew by creating a new account. Do this only if you are positive you no longer want any trace of your account or its contents on the service.
To sum up, if you need a vacation from social media, temporarily deleting your Instagram account is a decent alternative, while permanently deleting your account is a permanent solution that should be done only if you are sure you want to erase your account and all of its material from the site forever.
Instagram makes it easy to delete your account through their mobile app or desktop site. If you’re in need of a break from social media or just want some time away from it, this is a fantastic alternative. Your profile and any material you’ve added to the platform will be removed if you deactivate your account, but you’ll always be able to return if you change your mind.
Deleting your Instagram account permanently, on the other hand, is a big decision that should only be made if you are positive you never want your profile or material to appear on Instagram again. Once you verify your account deletion, you will no longer have access to any of your previous information.
It’s vital to make a decision that’s best for you and your social media use, whether that’s temporarily deactivating your account or deleting it completely.