G20 Summit 2023: Which Country Hosted the First G20 Summit?

G20 Summit: On December 1, 2022, India took over from Indonesia as the leader of the G20. India will be in charge for a year. This is a once-in-a-lifetime chance for India to put important international problems on the global agenda. As globalization has progressed and problems have become more intertwined, the G20 summit has started to focus on more than just macroeconomics and trade.

It has also started to talk about a wide range of global issues that have a big effect on the global economy. These problems included global development, climate change and energy, health, fighting terrorism, migration, and refugees, and so on. The G20 has worked to make the world a better place for everyone by helping to solve these global problems.

Where Was the First G20 Summit Held?

In 2008, Washington, DC was the site of the first G20 Summit. Exams often have questions about the list of G20 Summits. In the general knowledge part of these tests, there are questions about G20 Summits.

Candidates for future government exams like SSC, RRB, Bank, etc. must know about G20 summits because general knowledge is a key part of most of these exams’ curriculums. UPSC candidates should also pay close attention to the subject of the G20 meeting, as questions about it could also come up in the UPSC Prelims.

What is G20 Summit? G20 Summit 2023

The G20 meeting, which started in 1999, is the best place for countries to work together on the most important economic and financial issues. It brings together the most important developed and developing countries in the world. The G20 Summit will be hosted in India in 2023.

G20 Summit 2023

Indonesia stepped down as head of the G20, and India took over. India is in charge of the G20 from December 1, 2022, to November 30, 2023. In September 2023, the last G20 summit will be held in New Delhi. It will have 43 Heads of Delegation, which is the most ever for the G20. The 2023 Infrastructure Agenda is based on the idea of the Indian G-20 Presidency, which is “One Earth, One Family, One Future.”

List of G20 Summits From 2008 to 2023

The G20 Summit 2020 was place in Riyadh, Saudi Arabia, in November 2020. The 15th G20 meeting took place on November 21 and 22, 2020. Saudi King Salman bin Abdulaziz was in charge of it. At the 15th G20 meeting, PM Narendra Modi will be in charge of the Indian delegation.

Here is a list of all the G20 summits that took place between 2008 and 2023. The list also shows who hosted the summits, where they were held, and when they took place.

Also Read: When Will Babylon Berlin Season 5 Release On Netflix?

List of G20 Summits
G-20 Summits Dates G20 Host Countries Venue & Host City Host leader
1st November 14th-15th, 2008 United States National Building Museum, Washington, D.C George W. Bush
2nd April 2nd, 2009 United Kingdom ExCeL London, London Gordon Brown
3rd September 2th -25th, 2009 United States David L. Lawrence Convention Center, Pittsburgh Barack Obama
4th June 26th-27th 2010 Canada Metro Toronto Convention Centre, Toronto Stephen Harper
5th November 11th–12th 2010 South Korea COEX Convention & Exhibition Center, Seoul Lee Myung-bak
6th November 3rd–4th, 2011 France Palais des Festivals, Cannes Nicolas Sarkozy
7th June 18th–19th, 2012 Mexico Los Cabos Convention Center, San José del Cabo, Los Cabos Felipe Calderón
8th September 5th–6th, 2013 Russia Constantine Palace, Saint Petersburg Vladimir Putin
9th November 15th–16th,  2014 Australia Brisbane Convention & Exhibition Centre, Brisbane Tony Abbott
10th November 15th–16th,2015 Turkey Regnum Carya Hotel Convention Centre, Serik, Antalya Recep Tayyip Erdoğan
11th September 4th–5th 2016 China Hangzhou International Exhibition Centre, Hangzhou Xi Jinping
12th July 7th–8th 2017 Germany Hamburg Messe, Hamburg Angela Merkel
13th November 30th – December 1st 2018 Argentina Costa Salguero Center, Buenos Aires Mauricio Macri
14th June 28th- 29th, 2019 Japan Intex Osaka, Osaka Shinzō Abe
15th November 21st–22nd 2020 Saudi Arabia King Abdullah Financial District, Riyadh Salman
16th October 30th-31st 2021 Italy Rome Giuseppe Conte
17th November 15 -16, 2022 Indonesia The Apurva Kempinski, Bali Joko Widodo
18th September 9 – 10, 2023 India Pragati Maidan Convention Centre, New Delhi Narendra Modi
19th 2024 [Date to be announced] Brazil Luiz Inácio Lula da Silva

Who are the G20 Members?

The Group of Twenty, or G-20, gets its name from the fact that it has twenty members. It’s important to know that G20 members make up about 85% of the world’s GDP, 75% of its trade, and two-thirds of its people. Here is a list of the G20 countries:

G20 Member Countries
Argentina Australia
Brazil Canada
China France
Germany India
Indonesia Italy
Japan Mexico
Republic of Korea Republic of South Africa
Russia Saudi Arabia
Turkey United Kingdom
United States of America European Union (EU)

Also Read: When Will Season 4 of Bordertown Premiere? (Date Of Release)


The G20 Summit 2023 is a once-in-a-lifetime opportunity for India to focus on global issues such as global development, climate change, energy, health, fighting terrorism, migration and refugees. It will have 43 Heads of Delegation and the Infrastructure Agenda is based on the idea of the Indian G-20 Presidency. The G20 Summit 2020 was held in Riyadh, Saudi Arabia, with Saudi King Salman bin Abdulaziz in charge of the Indian delegation. G20 members make up 85% of the world’s GDP, 75% of its trade, and two-thirds of its people.

Check our website for more updates.

Leave a Comment