Australia Announces 18 Man Squad for the ICC World Cup 2023

ICC World Cup 2023: As the much-anticipated ICC Men’s Cricket Globe Cup 2023 approaches, cricket fans around the globe are eagerly anticipating the tournament. As the teams finalize their squads to compete for cricket’s most prestigious trophy, the spotlight is on them. Australia has formally announced its squad for the highly anticipated event, which is an exciting development.

The Australian cricket board announced the squad on Monday, and fans were ecstatic to see a blend of experienced and promising players. The 18-member squad is anticipated to pose a formidable challenge to the other teams competing for tournament victory. The Australian team, led by the astute Pat Cummins, is filled with world-class athletes in all positions. The squad is comprised of a mix of seasoned competitors who have proven their worth on the grandest stages and young guns eager to make their impact on the international stage.

David Warner, Steve Smith, and Glenn Maxwell will provide much-needed firepower in the batting department. Their consistent ability to score big runs under duress will be crucial to Australia’s success. The pace assault appears dangerous, with Cummins, Mitchell Starc, and Josh Hazlewood forming a formidable trio capable of troubling any opponent. Their speed, swing, and accuracy have caused batsmen all over the globe to tremble, and they will be the key to Australia’s bowling success.

Adam Zampa and Ashton Agar, who have demonstrated their effectiveness in the limited-overs format, will be responsible for spin bowling. Their ability to control the middle overs and secure important wickets will be crucial to Australia’s campaign. The Australians will be anxious to repeat their past World Cup triumphs and add another championship to their illustrious cricketing history.

Australia Squad for the ICC World Cup 2023

Pat Cummins (c), Sean Abbott, Ashton Agar, Alex Carey, Nathan Ellis, Cameron Green, Aaron Hardie, Josh Hazlewood, Travis Head, Josh Inglis, Mitchell Marsh, Glenn Maxwell, Tanveer Sangha, Steve Smith, Mitchell Starc, Marcus Stoinis, David Warner, Adam Zampa

Why Did Marnus Miss Out?

In a move that may startle some, Australia omitted Marnus Labuschagne from their preliminary World Cup squad for the 2023 tournament in India. Labuschagne is one of only three Australian players to have played at least 30 ODIs since the beginning of 2020, and the only specialist batsman to have done so.

Australia Announces 18 Man Squad for the ICC World Cup 2023

However, his returns in the format have not been exceptional. In 28 innings, he has a batting average of 31.37, a strikeout rate of 83.20, and only one three-digit tally. In Asia, his statistics continue to decline as his batting average falls to 28.91 and his strike rate drops to 77.45. Australia has decided not to include Labuschagne due to the abundance of all-round options available.

Also Read: 

Squad Analysis of Australia at the World Cup 2023

The squad also includes two uncapped players: 24-year-old seam-bowling all-rounder Aaron Hardie, who has played in only 16 List A matches, and 21-year-old leg spinner Tanveer Sangha, who has played in only five List A games.

While Hardie will compete with other seam-bowling all-rounders in the squad, such as Mitchell Marsh, Cameron Green, and Marcus Stoinis, Sangha could provide Australia with an additional spin option on surfaces anticipated to turn during the World Cup.

According to ICC regulations, the 18-person roster will be reduced to a final 15-person squad by September 28. Australia will play five ODIs against South Africa in South Africa and three ODIs against India in India before their first World Cup match on October 8 against India.

Prior to finalizing their squad for the mega-event, they would want to provide ample opportunities for youthful players such as Hardie and Sangha to demonstrate their skills. The team will be led by regular captain Pat Cummins, who, despite suffering a fractured wrist during the Ashes, is anticipated to be ready for the start of the World Cup.


Australia has announced its squad for the ICC Men’s Cricket World Cup 2023, featuring a mix of experienced and promising players. The 18-member squad, led by Pat Cummins, is expected to pose a formidable challenge to other teams competing for the trophy.

The squad includes experienced players like David Warner, Steve Smith, and Glenn Maxwell, as well as pace bowlers like Cummins, Mitchell Starc, and Josh Hazlewood. Australia also includes uncapped players Aaron Hardie and Tanveer Sangha, who could provide an additional spin option on the World Cup’s challenging surfaces.

Check our website for more updates.

Leave a Comment